Features of ESE

  • All editors are native English speakers
  • All editors are expert scientists with PhDs
  • All editors have >10 years postdoc experience
  • No freelance editors
  • Manuscripts published in >300 journals
  • Clients in >35 countries
  • Client retention rate of >95%
  • Transparent pricing policy
  • Volume discounts of up to 10%
  • Guaranteed editing quality
  • Comprehensive feedback about editing
  • Assured privacy, data security, and reliability
  • Professional, friendly communications
  • Rapid replies to emails; the red box above gives the current response time (if your browser's cache is refreshed)
  • Company operating for 15 years
  • No marketeers or other noneditors employed
  • Website designed and coded by us, so no cookies, tracking, or malware

The cost of our service (but not the editing quality) varies with the turnaround date. The table below lists the cost per 270 words (in New Zealand dollars) for the turnaround dates that are currently available (last updated at 2006 hours Universal Time on Monday 18 September 2017). You can use the cost calculator below to determine the total cost of your job. Simply enter the word count for your document(s) and the day number of your desired turnaround date (which must be one of those listed on the left), then press "Calculate". The total cost includes a job processing fee of NZ$ 20.

Currently available turnarounds


Turnaround date
Cost per
270 words
Friday 22 September: NZ$ 39.00
Monday 25 September: NZ$ 38.15
Tuesday 26 September: NZ$ 37.85
Wednesday 27 September: NZ$ 37.55
Thursday 28 September: NZ$ 37.30
Friday 29 September: NZ$ 37.00
Monday 2 October: NZ$ 36.20
Tuesday 3 October: NZ$ 35.90
Wednesday 4 October: NZ$ 35.60
Thursday 5 October: NZ$ 35.35
Friday 6 October: NZ$ 35.05
Monday 9 October: NZ$ 34.20
Tuesday 10 October: NZ$ 33.95
Wednesday 11 October: NZ$ 33.65
Thursday 12 October: NZ$ 33.40
Friday 13 October: NZ$ 33.10
Monday 16 October: NZ$ 32.25
Tuesday 17 October: NZ$ 32.00

Cost calculator

Number of words:
Day number:
Total cost:
Cost per 270 words:

Please note the following points:

  1. A processing fee of NZ$ 20 is added to each editing job.
  2. Documents are returned no later than 1000 hours Universal Time on the day indicated.
  3. The shortest turnaround available for large jobs might be longer than those indicated.
  4. If you have sent us more than NZ$ 1000 worth of jobs within the previous 6 months (including the present job), you will receive a volume discount.
  5. Because we do not employ freelancers, our shortest and longest turnarounds and their costs vary with our workload and editor availability.
  6. We update our turnarounds regularly between 1900 and 1000 hours Universal Time (on weekdays and weekends), but on rare occasions the actual turnaround date will differ from that shown (e.g., when we receive a large amount of work overnight or within a short space of time). We will confirm the guaranteed turnaround date and cost when we send you the quotation after we have received your document.
  7. It might be possible for us to offer a turnaround that is faster than the shortest turnaround advertised above, depending on the size of the document and our circumstances when we receive your email message. Please note that this will cost more than our fastest advertised service by an amount dependent on how short the turnaround is, but it will not exceed NZ$ 49 per 270 words (plus the NZ$ 20 processing fee). The actual cost will be confirmed in the quotation.
  8. The above cost does not include GST at 15%; however, this is only payable by clients based in New Zealand.